21 days to form a habit

I know, I know, there are balls that keep dropping!

Well, for a quick update, Birthday Month has been in full effect and finishes in 7 days! 😦

I hope with this new year and new beginning, you all can feel my positive energy seeping through whatever screen you are using to read this!

Speaking of New Beginnings! I have a plan – I like giving myself mini-challenges, like when I signed up for a 30-day Bikram Yoga Challenge two years ago.. that was the best shape I’ve been in, and the best feeling os self I’ve had in a long time.. so why did I stop!? Well, I know myself enough to know I need challenges. Call it boredom or loving new things, but I definitely start feeling stagnant when I start feeling comfortable or feel like I’ve reached some sort of personal goal. I need, and I’m sure many do, another push, something either a little bit harder, or something new that uses new muscles – mentally and physically.

And thus, my challenge was born.. So, for those who don’t follow me on social media, every year on my Birthday Month, I bombard Facebook with #quotesfordays. It’s really the only time of year I’m actually “social” lol. I share a quote, or three, daily to spread happiness, inspiration, ideas, and everyday thoughts I find interesting or insightful. Over the long weekend I thought about this and wondered.. if I can take 5min sometimes 10min of my day to post a random quote, then why havent I been able to do that with my blog? There are plenty of short blogs, strange blogs, blogs filled with nonsense.. All of which don’t need hours at a computer to express a thought. And if I have been struggling the past year to even post one thing, then why have I not used this idea or strategy to sort of “force” myself to tap my little fingers and create some words?

So once February ends.. my challenge is for the month of March, I will post something, whether it be 5 words or 500, just any blog post to fill your little feeds with my crazy brain.

The way I see it, after 31 days of tip-tapping I should have formed some sort of habit right? Just as my title reads – sadly however, if that didn’t work with yoga, I am still questioning the outcome of what’s to come when April hits. As James Clear recently taught me while researching this 21 day theory:

On average, it takes more than 2 months before a new behavior becomes automatic — 66 days to be exact. And how long it takes a new habit to form can vary widely depending on the behavior, the person, and the circumstances. In Lally’s study, it took anywhere from 18 days to 254 days for people to form a new habit. http://jamesclear.com/new-habit

So ok, that’s a little sad that I may not form a habit.. but it definitely kick-starts something. Because I still do yoga.. I’m just not as consistent.. mainly because I also enjoy running, and weight-lifting, and playing volleyball. I told you, I get bored. And I do still write in a journal also, so I’ve got to find balance.

Honestly, my goal is to get to a point where I can post something at least once a month, until I become a famous blogger, of course. 😉 And if this personal challenge can dust off my brain and remind me why I loved writing/blogging in the first place, then I will celebrate success.

I hope you are all as excited as I am! Here’s to Birthday Month and New Beginnings! And of course, thank you all for continuing to read, even one view means a whole lot ❤

I’ll see you all again in about 7 days! 🙂

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

