ignore-ance.

..is what i like to call it.. because the ignorer has no idea how the ignoree feels.. and therefore, they are ignorant.

If you haven’t caught on from my one sentence rant, my biggest pet peeve.. next to not saying ‘bless you’ when someone sneezes..(I dont care what religion you are, make up another phrase if you have to) or ‘thank you’ when you hold a door open.. (you know, common courtesy?!) is being ignored. I mean, I dont know many people who really enjoy it.. and of course, like most of my posts, I too, am a perpetrator. I am a mean person who has also ignored people. Maybe this is karma..

This gets me to thinking though, about how I treat people, and what things I have done to be on someones ‘pet peeve’ list. The minute I finished writing the first sentence to this post I immediately felt terrible for the people I have ignored. I found myself on the other side. You start asking yourself questions.. Did they read it? Did they listen to my voice mail? With technology these days sometimes you know when they have, which leads you to more questions: Did I offend them? Do they not care? What is going on?! How much time is appropriate before I should even be asking myself these questions?

“Whoever said ‘What you don’t know can’t hurt you,’ was a complete and total moron. Because for most people I know, not knowing is the worst feeling in the world.” -Greys

The only problem is, although I care about being ignored, other people might not even care at all if I respond to them. That’s another mystery in life I guess.. Or maybe its not. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.. ‘perception is reality.’ 5 people see a car accident, you get 5 different explanations. I think someone is ignoring me, they think they’re not, and vice versa. But even with our differences in perception, we should all be a little more considerate when people reach out to us, ask us questions, or offer information or assistance. When it comes to ignoring someone, I think there are simple, general guidelines that may help us to STOP IGNORING people. You all stop being jerks, and I will too.

– If someone asks you a question, answer it.

-If you’re not interested, say so. (didn’t I post about honesty recently?)

-If you feel bad because time has passed, don’t continue wasting time.. remember people ‘forgive’ but they don’t ‘forget’. You don’t even have to apologize, say something simple like.. ‘oops!’

-Be courteous. You never know when that person will magically pop back into your life. Damn that karma.

-Remember what it feels like to be on the other side. It sucks.

Leave a Reply

