theatre: to be or not to be.. awkward.

In the almost 4 years that I have been a manager in an intimate apparel store, I have never come across the conversation I’m about to tell you about.

A lovely young lady comes in and finds me fixing the lace undies. I say hello, and she responds. She proceeds to explain to me that she is a theatre major, which probably explains what happens next; because theatre people, or artists-in-human-form, as I like to call them, tend to be a little dramatic. She explains that in theatre she wears stretchy yoga-pant-style pants while rehearsing. Seems to be a normal enough conversation until, without even a blink of an eye, or an extra breath, she adds in her issues with these pants and her period. You heard me, her period. I.e. menstrual cycle, Aunt Flo, the Red App, whatever you call it, apparently it’s normal to have this conversation with strangers in front of lace undies. To make matters worse, because I was thinking, “ok, whatever, I mean all girls have period issues, so what if she has an un-realistic sense of awesomeness to think strangers care” ..she proceeds to explain these issues to me in regards to thong wearing (which OBVI doesn’t work when you’re on your period) comfort levels (no wedgies or bunching please) and thick-ness (need to be thin enough for said pants) of desired undies. Seriously!? I’m a retail manager, not a hair dresser! There are hundreds of people who walk in my store every day this time of year, and this is no place to be having a personal (or so I thought it was personal!) conversation. Lucky for me, I was able to find her exactly what she was looking for. Unfortunately for her, she chose lace undies. For someone with period problems.. you’d think the cotton option would be best.

There is no moral to this story, I just had to share it because it was awkward. I lied. Moral of the story, keep your period problems to yourself. Gross.

Leave a Reply

