a small rant.

For some reason the billboard music awards has conjured up some random emotion and thoughts.

So what do I do? Pour myself a glass of wine.

It has been a very tough week at work, and if you read my last post, you would have seen a small glimpse of my how I feel about my job. Speaking of jobs, I have been actively hunting, like the old school hunter-gatherer type, for a new career. It has been thoroughly frustrating because I love writing and consider myself naturally creative. However, my most recent work experience has been managing a 1.5M dollar bra and undie store. With that, comes offers only from sales groups or retailers. It amazes me how often companies miss the 2nd largest portion of my resume which includes working for one of the largest financial institutions in the US, graphic design, marketing, social networking, blogging, and even some admin work. Having done so much professionally seems to be a problem. I don’t specialize in one thing. I specialize in knowing HOW to do many things.

Even then, how did I become crumpled up and stuffed into a tiny hole of an idea that I know nothing more than how to manage a retail store? More so, aren’t management skills important? Long story short, I manage up to 25 associates during our busy “holiday” seasons and have a fairly good retention rate, especially for retail. And last year as a manager, I had the highest key performance indicators in my store. That means, during the times I ran business on the sales floor, I had the highest average dollar sale, units per transaction, and customer conversion rate combined.

Lets Wayne’s World this moment and take us to Friday {{waving hands and bee-doo-doop sounds}} As I was waiting for my laundry to dry at the ‘mat (as I like to call it) ‘Live! with Kelly’ was on. I freakin love that show! I believe Reggie Bush was the co-host, and Krysten Ritter was a guest. On the show there was a moment where Krysten was talking about how she got discovered. Kelly then began talking about talent and being discovered. She said something along the lines of: Some of the best talent is still undiscovered because they couldn’t make it to an audition or something.. She continued with a tiny discussion of uncontrollables and some controllables that hold people back from being discovered.

This got me thinking about my blog. And though this little blog of mine, is not as ‘big’ per say, as I would like it to be, I at least have some followers, and many friends who read along. But I also began to think.. is there something I’m not doing.. or worse, AM doing.. that is holding my blog back? And in essence, holding myself back from a career that I would be happy in? Better yet, flourishing in? And making a positive social contribution to? Am I not marketing myself properly? Does my blog suck!?

{{waving hands and bee-doo-doop sounds}}

Oh hello there again Billboard Music Awards. *takes sip of wine.

So here I am again, job hunting and getting frustrated that my natural and previous talents are being smoked-screened by this retail business. I guess its partially my fault since I have been searching at probably the worst time of the year because I am competing with recent grads heading into the job market. Thats another thing I would love to know: how can a 22yr old with no professional experience be more valuable than me? Now, I’m not saying recent grads aren’t valuable, I mean, we have med school grads, science grads, techies, art students even, who clearly have something I don’t. A skill I can’t do. I just wonder though, with a Communications degree myself, and a minor in Business/Marketing, why is it that being a 31yr old with professional experience makes me seem INvaluable? Is it because young grads technically will be alive longer than me? I mean, I’m still on track to make it another 40 to even 60 more years!

Or maybe its that thing.. those uncontrollables.. or maybe its the controllables.. Maybe I’ll just start doing cartwheels in front of all the companies I want to work for. Is that good marketing? Either way, I really need to figure this out, because I think the wine is starting to get to me..

Leave a Reply

