who wants to drive a robot?

Today I had the “pleasure” of taking my boyfriend’s truck for a ride since he took my car to work. This is part of some plan we have to prepare ourselves for our escape to the Cape this weekend. Look at me rhyming! Anyway, he took my car since I’m off all day. This way, I can pack up the truck so, the minute he gets home, I’ll just be waiting outside and he’ll jump in and away we go.

He purchased this truck, 1: because he had been wanting another one since his last truck sadly died, and 2: because he is an avid fly-fisherman and his little dodge wasn’t helping with the fishing trips. My boyfriend, however, also loves cars, he even owned a Corvette once, and his little “vroom vroom” car, as I like to call it (the dodge), was a hot ticket when he first purchased it back in 2005. It’s some dodge something, something, with racing seats, and is a 5 speed manual with some sort of hyper-boost-fast&thefurious-terminology-function that makes the car even faster.  Sorry to any of you who also likes cars as much as my boyfriend does because clearly, I have no clue about any of these exciting features.

My boyfriend knows a thing or two about cars, and one of the reasons we hit it off so quickly is because I also own a standard vehicle. I have a lovely 2-door Honda Accord. It’s nothing fast or furious, but it was a manual nonetheless, and apparently you don’t find many females who can drive a standard, never mind enjoy it. We have had many a conversation about driving a standard and how all people should probably, at the very least, KNOW how to drive one. Especially car salesmen. When I test drove mine back in 2007, my salesman had ME drive it out into the lot. Yup, ME. What car salesman can’t drive a standard!?

Anyhow, back to my first sentence and my “pleasure”. So this truck my lovely boyfriend purchased is an automatic. I was shocked at first when he mentioned it, but his reason to me made sense. He drives into Boston everyday to work. He drives in an hour of traffic and all that clutching is terrible. So he did his best to put all his needs into one vehicle. Fantastic. I still wasn’t a huge fan, but what was I gonna do?

 

Well I have not driven an automatic in over 4 years and I got to take his truck today.. heres how I felt about it via FB:

 

I couldn’t believe the difference! I felt like the car was driving me! With all the talk about manual transmissions becoming extinct, this kind of frightens me. Heres a good article to read from 2010

http://www.automotiveaddicts.com/13620/will-manual-transmission-become-extinct

Its true, all these “hands free parking” features, and no keys, who exactly is driving the car?! I know we are excited to live like the Jetsons, but I don’t think I’m ready to give up the power of changing gears myself.

I did think a little about this situation and was wondering.. if they stop making manuals what will my boyfriend watch?! The “Fast and the Furious” movies will die. How can you have a fast car thats automatic?! Its just strange. I don’t know how manuals can completely disappear. My guess is car manufacturers would still make them merely for the racing industry alone. I mean really, how can you race someone if you all have the same transmissions automatically gearing when THEY are ready? Will it turn into “who can step on the gas faster?!”

Aside from racing, like anything in life, when kids want to be like what they see on TV how will they learn if no one makes a manual car? Whatever the argument is for the industry, my argument is that I like knowing I’m in charge of my car. Also, one day while I’m driving, I want to know my car will not all of a sudden turn on me like in the movies. I know what you’re thinking, “that won’t happen”.. you want to know why? Because I will still be driving a manual. Through traffic, through mud, through blizzards and sunny days. All traffic does is give you a really toned left leg! And who doesn’t want that?! 🙂 Like I posted, Ill be clutching till I physically can’t clutch anymore.

Drive Manuals! The End.

Leave a Reply

